THE ORIGINAL MANVILLE MOVIE THEATER

dsc04017-1

All photos by Neal Ranauro. They will expand two times when clicked!

Alright i guess this entry is going to be more of the photo essay type since i know little of the original Main Street Manville movie theater. Once again we owe a million thanks to Manville photographer Neal Ranauro. Im going to go right ahead and assume this photo was taken in 1948, as both “the Mating of Millie” and “Summer Holiday” (the movies on the window and marquee) were both released that year. If you’re familiar with Main St. in Manville you can easily get a grasp of where this theater was… A. because the building is still standing, and still has that crazy brick shape produding out up top where the Marquee is anchored down… and B. because the building next to it is still there too. It’s basically the same, save the white wall covering at the bottom, which actually seemed like Manville had on a lot of it’s buildings in the 50’s… i feel like it gave it kind of a unified classic look.

dsc04016

and then the inside… note the inside trim kind of matches that protruding brick in the front… what an incredible looking building.

dsc04018-1

27 thoughts on “THE ORIGINAL MANVILLE MOVIE THEATER

  1. My mom[mary] worked at the chuck wagon for years.In the mid 60s she would get passes for us kids to see an afternoon movie for 35 cents!! King Kong vs. Godzilla,Day of the triffids, all the classics! Candy would rain down from the balcony!!!

    • More than candy rained down from the balcony. It was only $.25 when I started going. Walked from Weston and stopped for pizza at the Green Light Tavern on the way home.

  2. I remember this movie theater so well! On Saturdays, we’d always go to the movies and it was here that I saw The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and had my first taste of what it’s like to be scared by something in film…Fifty cents would get you through the door, a drink, one popcorn and a box a candy… Those were the days…

  3. One of the last movies I remember seeing there was “A Hard Day’s Night”. And afterwards on the way home with my brother I nearly lost my thumb sliding down the hill by the tracks by the Chester House. There used to be plenty of cardboard from the JM trains, laying off to the side of the hill . But I instead chose a large piece of stainless steel and bent it like a toboggan, hit a slab of stone and well blood everywhere. I still remember running home for 7 blocks………..still have the thumb and scar….

  4. You can still enter the old Manville Movie building and walk to the back of the theatre room. Where you will still find the original stage and movie screen area…………

      • Not to my knowledge, I used to go to the barber there and Sal[ the barber] showed it to me. Just walk to the back and the stage was very visible maybe 5 years ago……….

  5. I remember going to this movie theater almost every weekend. Saw all the Disney movies there. I also remember seeing “A Hard Day’s Night”. I was only 8 or 9 years old, so I didn’t understand why all the teenage girls were screaming! The movies cost 35 cents, but then went up to 50 cents. Soda was a dime. Ah, the good ol’ days!

  6. When our family moved to Manville,Little Weston- in 1964 it cost 25 cents.My first movie at The Manville Movies was Goldfinger,James Bond.My friend Michael loaned me the dough.I had no cash.He got an allowance !

    I loved Aston Martin Db5’s and saw many James Bond movies there.
    Sean Connery was a man’s man-HE GOT THE GIRL,and the villains.So cool.

    Jodi and Glenn are correct-for fifty cents you could be whisked away to another world,sit and suck on a warm soda and rubbery cold popcorn all afternoon.

    Fifty cents was a princely sum to a thirteen year old then…..The screen had BB holes in it and splashes from thrown sodas.The projector was cranky, stopped sometimes causing pandemonium.

    I loved the place except when getting mugged by the big kids for change or good seats,you know the ones that had clean upholstery or even upholstery and were still reasonably comfy and not sticky,wet or stinky.Your shoes and clothes usually had stuff stuck to them,part of the charm of the place.

    I’m sure lots of kids forced their way in because the ticket lady had to be 80 years old and very slow.MAN! If you got in free you could get extra candy!

    Uncle Charlie Nowielselski had a jewelry store right next door and he acted as a peace officer when it got really crazy outside.He was a big guy,maybe 5 foot in lifts.

    Once in a while Big “D” would pull up in a Rambler cop car to quash the unruly.

    The Manville News was there on the other side,I think.

    When I see $9.00 for a movie and $2.50 for a soda today I cringe.Rent it from Redbox for $1.00 and get a sixpack.Savings? Nothing.Still comes out to $9.00

    Hard Day’s Night? The Beatles? nahhhh The Who and the Stones were the kings.Way too dangerous to be shown to kids our age.They sang about sexual topics…. God Forbid.

    But in small town America,Manville- an icon…Built up from Hillsboro mud,we had fun.Not Nintendo,Playstation,Xbox, Internet, cellphone fun,but fun as a kid should have.

    That’s gone.

    Sad.

  7. Yes,the who and the stones!I think i saw “woodstock” there.Back when you only heard about rock bands from the guys who were old enough to go to the fillmore.It’s all so routine now.

  8. i KNEW WHO OWN THE MOVIES IN MANVILLE, IT WAS CHARLIE MAZUR, WHO ALSO OWN THE FOOD STORE BY THE ONE TRAFFIC LIGHT IN TOWN.. .25 cents for the movies my e-mail is vegastrain@aol.com, lived in lost valley and my moms dad had farm land in lost valley all the way to the bridge they where from poland..I was born in 1946

  9. Pingback: multi-room companys in Leeds

  10. charlie mazur was my grandfather and yes, he owned the manville movies as well as the foodtown supermarkets in manville, somerville and hillsborough.

  11. I remember going to the movies every week. In my younger years, they gave out dishes – one a week. Still have the whole collection. Does anyone know where they came from? There’s no writing on the back for pattern or manufacturer. I’d really like some info on them.

  12. seen my first Frankenstein movie here . scared the you know what out of me walking home in the dark. longest walk of my life. 14 cents to get in .Charlie mazur himself sold tickets. my fondest memory is seeing hank Williams live on stage along with other country singers of the day. that’s one hard to beat.

Leave a Reply

