1940’S MAIN STREET

100_1891INTERSECTION AT THE CURRENT SITE OF THE MAIN STREET UNDERPASS. CLICK PHOTO TO ENLARGE

This is another great photo taken by Neal Ranauro off of the roof of Johns Manville sometime in the 40’s. I love that he captured the Lehigh Valley steam engine pulling through the intersection that eventually became the Main Street underpass. Could you imagine what rush hour Manville would look like if the bridge never got put in? On the right you can see the old manville train station, which while they built the underpass, sat on stilts in the Chester House parking lot. Off in the distance there you can see the “Texaco” sign where cyburts eventually opened. I was going to use this photo to preface the “Opening of the Manville Underpass” post when I did it, but it’s just such a cool photo of life in the town… I figured I would let it stand alone.

3 thoughts on “1940’S MAIN STREET

  1. Great picture…….the locomotive in the picture would be a Lehigh Valley RR engine……The Pennsylvania RR didn’t run through Manville.

  2. Hey Wayne you were right… thanks for the help. I updated the post, and also I found another photo of the engine pulling though the intersection. close up this time. Ill post in a few minutes!

  3. I have an old Manville photo I found on the net of “The Electic Shop” truck with 3 men standing in front of it. It must be from the early fifties. I will post it but need to know how.

Leave a Reply

