The First Manville Administration

THE FIRST OFFICIAL FAMILY OF THE BOROUGH OF MANVILLE, NEW JERSEY, MAY 1929

TOP ROW, LEFT TO RIGHT – JOSEPH BULAT, Clerk:  CHARLES KUPPER, Engineer:  FLOYD SHIMALLA, Constable:  JOHN JASINSKI, Recorder:  JOSEPH G. WILHOUSKY, Treasurer:  ADAM FUCILLO, Assessor

BOTTOM ROW, LEFT TO RIGHT – GEORGE W. ALLGAIR, Counsel:  JOSEPH ONKA, Councilman:  PETER WHELAN, Councilman:  GUSTAV BOESEL, Mayor:  NATHAN WEISS, Councilman:  BENJAMIN CZAPLICKI, Councilman:  JOSEPH SIDORSKI, Councilman:  JOHN GREASHEIMER, Councilman.

I was able to score this great photo of Manville’s first official administration from the Manville Library’s archive. Once again we owe the libray’s Director Ed Smith a big thanks. They actually have an enlarged version of this photo hanging up in the library as well… so if you want to see a real life reproduction that would be the place. You’ll probably recognize a lot of the names listed in the photo as mostly all of these men have streets named after them. Despite the fact that there were many markings on the back of the photo I could not find anyone to credit the photo to… so if anyone knows please tell me so I can get a proper credit on here. The back did include this little paste over label to include the names… I thought it worthy of inclusion (sorry about the bad photoshop job.) I wish I had this photo earlier as this is basically the godfathers of Manville’s Goverment. Just awesome… both photos are clickable for enlarged versions.

14 thoughts on “The First Manville Administration

  1. This photo is truly awesome. This site is very appreciated by myself and others who grew up here. Keep up the great work.

  2. I would like to have a copy of the picture showing bthe first administration The reason my father is in it Thank myou if it is possible My mailoing address is 518 Route 35 Nort6h,

    • Mr Charles J. Kupper Jr, My name is Craig T. Kupper and I just was very curious about the Airport and how it came to be.
      My family came to the United States in the early 1800’s. New York City in the town of Rockaway Beach is where I was born in 1959.
      Did your family come from Germany?

  3. Floyd Shimalla was my uncle. I have a picture of the first police car with him sitting in it. Is there some way to post it on this site?

    • ‘d love to post any old photos you have. If you need I can even come digitally photograph it for you. But if you have a scanner, a digital camera or even a decent camera on your phone it should be sufficient enough. Feel free to email it to me at Devildance@hotmail.com If you have any history on Floyd I’d be happy to include it as well.

  4. Pingback: Floyd Schenck and the First Manville Police Car (1929) | Manville, NJ ... Revolution on the Millstone

Leave a Reply

