Manville News, June 20th, 1941

Here is the 9th installment of the Manville News digital archive. The issue is June 20th, 1941. We are missing all of the June issues up until this one. This issue is in the worst shape of of the bunch so far… so there are a few chunks missing from some of the edges. For the most part it’s very readable. There’s a pretty interesting article on page 3 called “Profiters and Losers” which is essentially an opinion column insinuating that carnivals should be banned from the town of Manville. Stating that “businessmen in tents are the profiters and winners, the merchants and folks which live here all year round are the losers” I don’t know why I was drawn to it, but I guess I never viewed the carnival in a negative light, or as a distraction from the towns natural economy… but I guess in some weird way it is.  It sure is a good time though… and damn good for a community. Anyway, enough rambling… here’s the link. Manville News 6-20-1941 OCR

3 thoughts on “Manville News, June 20th, 1941

  1. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted
    to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

