Bellomo and Saia 1927

Click Photo to Enlarge

Ok, so I just wanted to revisit this photo for a minute. The reason being is that there was some mystery to what or where store this actually was. I lucked into a newspaper article with this same photo… it included a caption. The caption reads…

These well stocked shelves belonged to the grocery Bellomo and Saia, in March of 1927. The store was located on South Main Street across from Migliore’s Garage, next to the Main Street underpass. The store burned in 1928.

Anyway, I just wanted to shed the facts on this, since my last post had a lack of information. I’m still looking for some photos of Migliore’s Garage. If anyone out there has any.

 

5 thoughts on “Bellomo and Saia 1927

  1. There is an auto repair shop there, South of Fucillo St — perhaps that is the original site of Migliore’s Garage? (I seem to remember it being a Gulf station years ago)
    If so, that would mean the grocery was on the East side of Main St.
    Unfortunately, the earliest photo on historicaerials.com is from 1931, and the resolution isn’t good enough to spot any possible ruins from the fire. If it was there, the site was destroyed when the new underpass was built.

  2. That is the correct location of Migliore Bros. service station. My parents knew Phil & Sal and my father bought gas from them. It was originally an Esso station

  3. Today, I went to the beach front with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go
    back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

Leave a Reply

