Manville buildings 1969-1970

The Elmcrest Inn, Feb. 1969 • Click to Enlarge

Hey everyone. So it’s been a busy few weeks for me, but I finally got around to scanning this envelope full of Manville photo slides that were recently unearthed from an old dusty cabinet in the Somerset County Historical Society. It was pretty frustrating trying to get nice scans of these, but after much rigging I got clean prints and the fruits were pretty amazing. First of all you can see above I got a nice transfer of that Elmcrest Inn photo… which I’m probably most excited about out of the bunch. Here are the other good ones… these will all enlarge a bit if you click on them. The second scan is another Manville favorite place which still exists. The Chester House.

This one is sort of a bad photo, and a little blurry, but people ask me about it alot. And it’s really the first good color photo on this site of The Polish Home. The polish home is also a defunct Manville building, which was located right across from Roosevelt School.

Just got an update on the following building from Antoinette (Rogalski) Vinciguerra! She says…  “The house was over 200 years old when it was demolished, a very sad day for my family. My grandparents Joseph and Loretta Rogalski, moved to the US from Poland and purchased that house which was also a place of business known as the Roadhouse. It was also larger than in the picture. One third of it burnt down in a fire. The Roadhouse was a happening place from what I hear back in its day. It had ballrooms, a saloon and was an inn. The front side of it, not pictured, had a large wooden porch with several large columns. It also had a stepping stone in front of the porch which was used by stage coaches.”

This next one caught me really off guard, and I feel so dumb for never paying attention to this, despite seeing it so many times in my life. I always heard that Camplain Rd. was so named “Camp Lane” because it literally was the campsite of the Continental Army. It’s a little hard to read in the photo, but this sign that sits right outside of Classical Glass on Camplain Rd. reads.. “Encampment area for Pennsylvania troops of the Continental Army from about December 15, 1778 until June 1, 1779.” If anyone in Manville tries telling you nothing ever happened in Manville you bring em here.

Ok. this next one is another mystery house, although it is entitled “The Fiero House” taken Feb. 1969. I’m not sure if this still exists or what the signifigance is but here is a photo.

And last, but most definitely not least is this great photo of the Main Street School (formerly located at the site of the Main St. parking lot). A lot of folks on here attended this school, and I know it’s been a fan favorite on here. The is pretty much the best color photo I’ve seen of this place yet.

I’m not sure who took these photos, so I cannot give a proper credit. If you took them let me know and I’ll be sure to get your name on them. Also, a huge thanks to the Somerset County Historical Society for trusting me with these slides, thinking of me when they were unearthed, and inducting me a trustee. If anyone out there is interested in getting involved with the society, we are looking for fresh faces & ideas. Please get in touch!

Oh, one last thing before I leave you alone. I’ve been talking to some great older folk who keep telling me about some friends around town that have these incredible photo archives, who would be dying to show them off. If you are one of these people, please get in touch with me I would LOVE to come hang out, have about 10 cups of coffee and chat about Manville… AND see some great photos. If you would like to share photos on here as well please get in touch with me. I will credit everyone, I have all kinds of digital archive technologies, and I would be happy to print extra copies or provide you with the digital versions of your photos on a disk. Please help preserve the history of this town. Also, I have specifically heard the name Smolinka as a person who has a great archive of photos. If anyone knows them or anyone else with photos please communicate to them about this site. I know a lot of older folk don’t like to, or are unable to use computers, which pretty much cuts my lines of communication to them. Thank you.

14 thoughts on “Manville buildings 1969-1970

  1. The house in the picture occupied the whole block bounded by Knopf St, St. Marks Pl, Dailey Pl and St. John St. It had a chain link fence around the whole block. At one time it was referred to as Rogalski’s Grove.

    • I was just looking through the site and saw some comments made by Peter Lazas about this house. Rogalski’s Grove is also mentioned several times in the Manville News issues on the site. Adam Kita mentioned the German Shepherds that guarded the property. I remember them well! We used to climb the fence to pick chestnuts that had fallen from trees in the yard and then get back over FAST when the dogs came out! I believe the last owner was Mrs. Rogalski. Adam, she lives across the street from your brother Bob.

    • I’m also thinking that 2nd one with the big enclosed porch may be or was in the Valley. Down the end of Lincoln near Cooper.

      • I’m pretty sure you are correct as to where this house is. I haven’t been there in a while but I think it is still there.

  2. Regarding the encampment marker photo:
    The white brick house in the background (Classical Glass) is where my mother Millie grew up.
    This was part of the 2nd encampment of Middlebrook (Bound Brook)…
    “In 1778, following the battle of Monmouth, Washington took the American Army north to the New York Highlands to guard the Hudson River against the British Army which had moved back into New York City.
    When winter approached, the main portion of the army was placed in New Jersey, near the village of Middlebrook. The winter was a very mild one. The troops were hungry, but they never starved like at Valley Forge the year before.”

    • The Sign and the Flags were in Petey’s old parking lot.
      The state put up the sign and the Semenick’s put up the flag poll on Semenick Lane.

  3. Hi Ron.
    Yes – Art is my Dad. Are you related to Charlie Charneski? His wife Joyce (Pawlik, Dad’s cousin) gave me some photos that I put on http://www.CarmonSandusky.com.
    Unfortunately Dad doesn’t have any interest in computers, so he’s missing out on all this Manville chatter!
    There’s also a large “Manville” facebook group that has been talking about everything Manville.
    Gary

      • He wants info on the locaton of Evans Field, in Weston. I think it was just across the brook, but can’t find any old maps. ron charneski

  4. I wonder what the significance is,all the patrons of The Elmcrest drove in with MoPars. (Chrysler products)

    Imagine that 57 with a pilot stewed to the gills.And today it’s
    0.08 alky to start riding a bike.

    The times they are a changin’

    The sixth photo is apparently the house at the end of Lincoln,I thought was once owned by Selody’s Sod Farm.During Floyd I knew of a tenant there that swam out the upstairs window over to Bridge St.

Leave a Reply

