Petey’s Films • Manville Businesses

This next episode of Petey’s film’s really strikes a personal chord with me, and not just because it’s about Manville. You all know that I’ve been sharing the old Manville News issues on here thanks to the good graces and help of Kevin Shutack. Kevin’s family owned the local print shop, which produced the town’s first newspapers, which is why he had them laying around all this time. As a graphic designer, part time letterpress printer, and employee at a local newspaper, I was floored at the opening scene of this video being the old Manville News. Now that I’ve spent the year archiving these I get to actually watch them being produced! Not only that, but I get to watch them being printed on a letterpress machine, and using a Linotype machine, old printing methods which I also happen to be in the practice of doing myself as a hobby. Anyway, not to focus too much on one section, this video highlights a few other businesses in the Manville area, including London Fur Dyeing Company, (cigar maker?), liquor store, Lloyd Garment Company (21 South 3rd Ave). As always if anyone can elaborate on these films please leave a comment! Thanks again to Gary Carmon for digitally archiving and sharing these!

8 thoughts on “Petey’s Films • Manville Businesses

  1. There was a cigar factory on Camplain Road, 2 doors from S. 7th Ave on the North side of the street. The building still stands, almost directly across Camplain from Mary’s Market (or whatever it’s called these days).
    It’s now a residential building, with a basement door and a couple windows facing Camplain.

    As a kid, we’d walk past the old cigar factory almost every school day. The building was run-down, the lot overgrown, but there was still a faded sign on the building identifying it as a cigar factory.

    It was renovated to it’s current use in the 70s or 80s.

  2. Scene 2l, Manville News. The gentleman smiling at the end of the scene is John Trombadore, who with Adam Chase, an attorney, published the first newspaper in Manville.

  3. In the opening scene at the print shop, they show a very young man running the linotype and other equipment. Do you know who that is? I think that may have been my Dad. He was an orphan and learned the printing trade at BoysTown in Kearny. He had mentioned that his first job after turning 18 and leaving BoysTown was in a print shop in Manville and he always mentioned John Trombadore. They let him stay in a room above the print shop. His first name was Ed.

    • Robert. I’m pretty excited there is someone else on the site that knows his stuff about letterpress! I believe this may have been the printshop that was located on main st, which is now gone. It was located right across from the old Dairy Queen. There is still just an empty lot there where it used to be. Unfortunately I do not know who anyone in the video actually is. I will say that the print shop was pretty small and I can’t imagine they had many printers working in there. Maybe it’s him!

      • I showed the video to my brothers and sister. They pulled out his wedding picture and compared. They absolutely, definitely feel it is him without question. Actually, I recognize his hands, as I always thought it strange that he did not type with his index finger, just like in the video. He would have been about 18-20 years old and it would have been approx. 1936-38. My Mom’s family lived in Manville at the time and her Dad ran a small “convenience” store in town.
        They settled in Dunellen and he worked at Art Color as a chief pressman running a 4-color press. He had his own print shop in our garage and basement. The garage had the linotype (gas fired lead pot) and the basement had the letterpress, offset (Multilith 1250), typecases, camera and darkroom, platemaker, etc. As a kid, I always made some spending money by running off 500 business cards or envelopes on the letterpress. I would stand on a milk crate. I got paid a whole 25 cents when I finished. Big money for a kid at the time.
        He had mentioned that the print shop had burnt down when he was there. Probably around 1940-41. Is that true? We also figured that the shop had to be small and probably the only one in Manville at that time. What would be the chances of them having two young guys that looked that similar and with the John Thrombadore connection?
        My older brother is looking thru the other videos to see if he can recognize anyone from my Mom’s family. He thinks he saw her younger brother and sister. The brother always used to tell stories about playing baseball in Manville as a kid. They lived close to the baseball field (sandlot?) where they played.
        Thanks for posting all this stuff. I drive thru Manville every night going home from work, right past that location. Now I don’t have to wonder where it was. Thanks.

  4. Seeing the section of the sewing — there used to be a sewing factory on Brooks Blvd. across from Christ the King church. Going towards main street it would have been on the right hand side. I think now it is a mason place or railing place or something. Also, my father told me that before Manville built the High School there used to be a development there for the workers of John’s Manville plant……anyone have info or pics of that?

Leave a Reply

