Lost Manville Photos 1938-1939 Discovered!

img346Main Street • Click to Enlarge

Hey Y’all! I’m still here. Life is chasing after my free time with a fury lately, and I apologize for the lack of attention to this blog. Sometimes the best motivator is a swift kick in the ass, and I got one in an email recently from a woman who unearthed a pretty large cache of vintage photos circa 1938/39. I haven’t seen these yet, but allegedly there is a pretty serious portion of vintage Manville. The 2 photos pictured in this post are from said collection. The above example is a man standing across from Duryea Motors, which was formerly located on main street just a couple doors down from quick check. It escapes me what the new businesses are, but the building is still there and has since been stuccoed. The building you see on the left there was most recently Davie’s Tavern. The important question is…. WHERE is the video that guy is taking?

img259

Roosevelt School c. 1938 • Click to enlarge

This one is the N. 4th ave view of Roosevelt School. I actually didn’t know this, but apparently there was an addition put on the right side of the building at some point, and as you can see in this photo, it isn’t there yet. I’m excited about this one, as I do not have this view of the building up here yet. Anyway, that’s all I have for now. Like I said this is from a collection that hopefully will come to light on this blog. If the rest of the collection is of significant quality, we may also, be trying to make some of these images available in print or book form in the future. Stay tuned… I will be bringing you more of these!

2 thoughts on “Lost Manville Photos 1938-1939 Discovered!

  1. To the right of where the little boy is walking in the Roosevelt School picture was the Polish American Home. I can’t wait to see the others.

Leave a Reply

