The Manville Royals

Manville-RoyalsClick Photo to Enlarge

I’m always excited to get some new material up here, particularly stuff I was completely unaware of. The Manville Royals were a baseball team we have not seen on this site yet. Thankfully Rich Hamernik contributed these excellent photos, which he thinks are from the 20’s. I think I agree with him. Rich’s Grandfather Charlie “Butch” Hamernik was the team’s third baseman (and allegedly a pretty good one). Unfortunately I do not have a list of names for all of the folks on the team, but I’d love to update this post if anyone can identify them! In the meantime though here is a great photo of Charlie suited up for a game… as always click the photos to enlarge! These photos are awesome Rich! Thank you!

Charlie-Hamernik-Manville-RoyalsAlso, don’t forget if you want to print, email, or share this post check the icons on the bottom!

7 thoughts on “The Manville Royals

  1. I’d like to get connected to Rich Hamernik. There’s a chance we are distantly related. My grandfather’s sister married a John Hamernik in Manville (or Manhattan, NY). My Grandfather moved to Manville in 1922. John Hamernik moved from Manhattan to Manville around the same time.

    • Hi Cathy, I was told that there was another Hamernik family that lived in Manville. My oldest sister remembers us getting mail delivered with the name of another Hamernik on it. My great grandfather came to this country by himself and did not have any siblings. Are you sure it is spelled the same? I have seen Hamernik spelled Hammernik or Hamernick.

  2. Hi Cathy, I was told that there was another Hamernik family that lived in Manville. My oldest sister remembers us getting mail delivered with the name of another Hamernik on it. My great grandfather came to this country by himself and did not have any siblings. Are you sure it is spelled the same? I have seen Hamernik spelled Hammernik or Hamernick.

  3. Pingback: First Manville Band in Action | Manville, NJ ... Revolution on the Millstone

  4. Standing second from the left could possibly be a Bobrowski, perhaps John. I am checking with John’s daughter to see what she thinks. If he was 18 here, that would date the photo at 1937.

Leave a Reply

