Something Incredible Just Happened…

1st download 3949Click Photo to Enlarge

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I was contacted by a woman named Anne Sullivan, who had unearthed a cache of great Manville photos, which at the time I had not yet seen. Today I got a flash drive in the mail. It includes 789 photos from 1938-39. They are incredible. There is definitely a narrative behind the photos, and as soon as I figure out what it is I will explain it.

Meanwhile, I am going to be slowly rolling out the photos on this blog. They revolve around a family or a group of friends. I am going to need lots of help sorting out who the people are. Hell, who knows… one of em might even be you. Whoever took these was obviously a hell raiser, well to do, a passioned cyclist, and had a pretty sweet eye for photography and capturing emotion. If you know anyone in the photos please comment or contact me.

Out of the batch I’d say at least 60% of them are in the actual town of Manville. I’m actually not familiar with the person/place pictured above, so I’d just like to start with a mystery… can anyone identify the guy/place in the photo at the top of the page?

And just for good measure, here is a great, albeit damaged photo of the Manville Movie Theater…

1st-download-4155-1

Thanks Anne for sending these. I’m very sure everyone will appreciate these photos… Manvillians past and present… wait until you see these.

One thought on “Something Incredible Just Happened…

Leave a Reply

