Washington & South 11th Ave. 1940

11th-panoramSouth 11th Ave. circa. 1940 • Click Photo to Enlarge

I had a few photos that seemed to be a complete documentation of the dead end block of South 11th Ave (right across from the Manville Library). So I decided to throw them in photoshop and stitch them together. This photo will expand twice if you click on it, and I would recommend doing so for full appreciation. If I had to take a guess here I’d say there was no such thing as 12th yet, and we would probably be standing on 13th to get this view. I mostly Identified this by the recently removed water tower and that really cool building on the corner of South 11th and Washington. The building still exists and has always been one of my favorite Manville buildings. It’s the one that currently looks like this…

Screen shot 2013-09-03 at 9.23.48 PMAt the time that top photo was taken (1940), Washington Ave. was still a muddy mess of a road still waiting to get itself paved. And by 1941 I believe it actually was. I’m sure right now you are probably thinking “man, it would be really great to have been able to see what that looked like back then” The thing is, you’re in luck because I happen to have this great photo that was sent in by Anne Sullivan! Must have been hell to try and get around on “streets” like this back then! You can click the photo to enlarge it… twice!

1st download 4150Again, this is looking down Washington Ave, and you can see our favorite building again over there on the corner of South 11th. WIth all that said, I believe that we just covered another unseen great vantage point in old Manville. Awesome.

8 thoughts on “Washington & South 11th Ave. 1940

  1. Hi again. I told you how my mom’s parents bought Captain Davies’ mansion (Elmcrest Inn) in 1922. When they sold it, they bought a house on the SW corner of Washington and Eleventh. Odd that today’s email again touched my family.

    My question is do you think that would be the building on the extreme right of your panorama? And the light colored 2 story building near your favorite building?

    Thanks for all you do. Cathy Persinko-Deschu

    • Cathy,
      “My favorite building” would technically be on the northeast corner geographically. So I’m assuming it would be catty corner. I do have a lot of photos of that area from ’39-’40, so I’ll see if I can find a shot of it. You know what years they lived there? There are lots of people in the photos. I wonder if you could identify any of them. They all seem to be pretty well off financially. They all have pretty nice cars and looks like some of the kids were all semi professional bikers.

  2. The first picture with the old water tower looks like it was taken where the firehouse is located present day before the RR crossing was there – that building in the second picture used to be a store and Manville had many of those Mom and Pop stores – used to be my favorite on my paper route back in the 60’s – looks like Washington Ave was paved up to the store in the picture – keep the great pictures coming!

  3. Pingback: Manville Paving / Sewers | Manville, NJ … Revolution on the Millstone

  4. Like your photos of Manville. I lived on south 10th when I was little. Back in the early 60’s. I recall the building on the corner of south 11th being a store. Also, how nice it was to live near the Somerset Bakery which was on the corner of south 10th and Camplain. This was a great memory maker for Manville residents when you could smell them baking away!

  5. The building on the corner of S. 11th. Ave. was Jake Wirzman’s Grocery Store in the 40’s and 50’s. We used to walk across the tracks to go to that store. We lived on N. 11th. Ave.

  6. The building on the corner of Washington and S 11th was owned for many years by my grandparents Jacob and Antonette Wirzman who had a butcher shop and grocery store there during the 1950s and 60s until my grandfather passed away.. I am not sure when they opened but I spent my childhood in that store stocking the shelves and stamping prices on the canned goods using the blue ink stamper. My grandparents lived upstairs and I lived next door in the small ranch house on the corner of Washington and S10th.

    That was the great kind of store we had back then. Penny candy in jars, stick pretzels sold individually, fresh cut meats wrapped in butcher paper, fresh made sausage, loose eggs sold in a bag. My grandfather would sit in front of the door to the walk in refrigerator and listen to the Yankees play baseball. Fat trimmed from the meat was collected in a bucket and sold to the Fat man to be taken to make cosmetics. There was a board with soda bottle caps nailed to it to scrape the bottoms of your shoots to get the sawdust off them.

    My grandparents had a lovely backyard where there is currently a parking lot with many small trees and lots of flowers. It was like an oasis. That side of the building was covered in ivy and every night there was a cacophony of sound as the birds settled into the ivy for the night. Honeysuckle also grew up the side. What a smell. There was a beautiful dogwood tree near the 11th ave side where my grandfather hung a swing for me. I used to help cut the small amounts of grass using one of the old reel push mowers.

    The basement of the store was a spooky place with so many shelves storing old products that didn’t sell but following the great depression people would never throw away because they might need them. It was so dark down there. There was a small workshop where standing on the floor was an artillery projectile maybe 8-10 inches in diameter. I always wondered where that came from.

    My grandfather Jacob played trumpet in the Manville band, was a member of the Somerville Elks and at various earlier times owned what became Mary’s market and sold cars on main street. He is buried in the Sacred Heart cemetery on Millstone road with his wife Antonette and his parents Marek and Katherzyna.

Leave a Reply

