203 Main Street

1st download 3880

203 Main Street around 1940 • Click Photo to Enlarge

Hey guys. So I figured a lighter post was in order. I have a handful a these great photos which feature The building on the corner of Main & Camplain roads. Some of them have appeared on this blog before, but I wanted to reintroduce them in this new historical context.

I don’t know if it’s the official name, but I’ve always known it as “The Blumberg Building” officially located at 203 Main St. The above photo (c. 1940) is the earliest one I have, and I guess at some point an addition was put on as shown in the photos below.

These next two photos were taken by Neal Ranauro and take place at some point in the mid 1950s. The top photo is dressed with buntings for the Silver Jubille, Manville’s 25th anniversary celebration… which would date it in 1954. The bottom one still has no traffic light, so it would be slightly earlier. If you look real close you can see the building has been freshly altered. The photos will expand if you click them!

DSC04006 DSC04005They put up those cool marble looking facades across the whole front of the building & you can see the fresh brick that was the addition. I’d love to know the date of construction if anyone can verify. I’m a little jealous of Manville’s vibrant Main Street culture when it was a boomtown… looks like no one wanted to go home. The building is still there, a shell of it’s former beauty. Here is a modern photo…

Screen Shot 2014-01-21 at 12.08.26 PM

One thought on “203 Main Street

  1. I grew up in Manville on Filak Ave. I still have my bedroom furniture (restored) that I bought in l957 when I was married, from Fill’s Furniture store. I went to Dunellen HS and used to sit at Blumberg’s concrete entrance to wait for the bus that took us to Dunellen HS from l950-l955.
    Jean (Repka) Tomko

Leave a Reply

