Manville Library Archive…

librarySome of the great photos recently unearthed from the Manville Library attic

If you pay attention to this blog, or have for a while you might know that I complain a lot about a lack of a proper historical archive in which residents have access to. Well there is good news… we’re building one. The good folks at the Manville Library have given me complete access to “anything and everything in the building” in the name of helping build a usable archive for the people. In fact they are sacrificing an entire room for it. They called the right guy… I spent the entire day on Friday digging through dusty boxes in the attic that haven’t been touched in decades.

As it turns out the archive is much, much more vast than I had imagined it would be. I am turning up chunks of Neal Ranauro’s elusive photo collection… a lot of which still has the negatives in tact. This is extremely good news… since it’s the best proper photo archive that I know of. Hopefully it’s all there. I’ve brought a slide scanner, digital camera, and laptop over there, and basically set up a fully functioning portable archiving system. We’ve also found a lot of 16mm film, so if there is anyone out there that has a working 16mm projector that the library can borrow briefly please contact me at Devildance@hotmail.com. These things aren’t getting any younger and I’d like to get them digitally archived as well.

While I was there former Mayor Joseph Patero (late 1960’s) showed up to thank me for spearheading the project. Turns out he grew up in Lost Valley and knew my grandfather well. Joe is an amazing and humble guy and we traded tons of old Manville stories for a good part of 2 hours. He told me about how the first few years of the town council minutes are recorded in Polish, and how the entire town bussed out to Yankees stadium to see Johnny “Legs” Welaj make his major league hometown debut. When he spoke of the the town then and now, there was still a fondness in his tone. He didn’t once tell me about how “the town is going to hell” which seems to be the popular rhetoric these days. He did however tell me about a MHS sophomore who received a summer scholarship to Cornell and how he planned on helping her. It was an awesome day and I think both Mr. Patero and I walked away with a renewed sense of community and pride. I liked that.

I know this isn’t a typical post for this site and I’m sorry it doesn’t include a bunch cool old photos, but I just wanted to thank the Manville Library for taking this step to honor the history of their town. For giving people access and a tangible glimpse into their great and storied past. Historical perspective always seems to me like good medicine for separated communities. I will try and keep everyone posted on the progress of what turns up!

Speaking of community Manville High School Sophmore Chelsea Phuangthong, who just won that summer scholarship to Cornell, could use some help financing her education. If you are interested in here story you can read about it HERE.

2 thoughts on “Manville Library Archive…

  1. Hi! I enjoy reading this blog. As for that 16mm film, I’ve been researching how best to digitize and preserve it. It should be scanned in HD. There’s a place I found that does it for $0.20/foot and should be saved to a hard drive. I plan on using them for my family’s home movies. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

