Manville A.A. baseball team

manville-aa-baseball-1930Manville A.A. Baseball Team • Click to Enlarge

When I first started trying to sort out Manville’s history it became very obvious very early that sports were a big deal in town. In fact there are so many different baseball teams that it’s hard to even make sense of them all. Recently I was digitally archiving some taped interviews and I came across this 1985 interview of Manville businessman, and former Manager of the Manville Yellow jackets football team, Marty Weiss.

Marty was an original Manville guy with an extremely vivid memory, and I’ll probably end up posting the whole interview up here. For now though I want to focus on the sports segment, and how Josh Gibson and Satchel Paige both played baseball in Manville! If you are unfamiliar with those guys, we are talking about two of the best black baseball players to ever play the game, and the first 2 black players to be inducted in to the hall of fame.

In the past I have heard the the Black Yankees used to play Manville A.A. in baseball and I know Satchel played for them in 1941. Being that they were based out of Paterson, N.J. at the time it all adds up. Again I’m a huge baseball geek so this is yet another claim to fame, at least as far as I’m concerned for my little hometown. And by the way, in case you missed my 2010 post on our Manville guy that made it to the Major Leagues please see my post on Johnny ‘legs’ Welaj.

In the meantime though take a listen to this clip of Marty Weiss’s interview with Edward Purzycki back on 8-23-1985. He goes on to talk about his time coaching the Yellow Jackets football team and how he couldn’t keep those guys out of Petey’s Bar… which if you are unfamiliar with later became Gatto’s. Thanks to the Manville Public Library for this Gem. Here you go…

One thought on “Manville A.A. baseball team

Leave a Reply

